a re-introduction

Hello!  My name is Ginger and I am 28 years old.  I live in a quiet neighborhood in Seattle and can only imagine living in the city or the country – never the suburbs.  I was born and grew up in Olympia, WA, where I lived with my parents and two sisters.  I’m the middle child, and like it like that.  I got my BA from Pitzer College majoring in Anthropology (Human Evolution, Prehistory and Archaeology track) and Art with a minor in Art History, went to grad school at UW for Museum Studies, but lost my passion for it before finishing my thesis.  I worked in museums for 10 years (including during college), and was miserable, but now I work as a business administrator for a successful glass artist and love that I get to learn how to run a business so I can start my own soon.  I’m not built to have an overbearing boss or a million levels of approvals, and much prefer entrepreneurism to bureaucracy.

Brugmansia (Angel's Trumpet)

My birthday is often the first day of autumn, which is my favorite season.  My favorite colors are smoky gray, midnight blue, and golden yellow. My favorite flowers are ranunculus (I like to say it), fireweed, and brugmansia.  My favorite smells are tomato leaves, our cat Arthur’s fur, bourbon, toasted fennel, and citrus blossoms.  I don’t wear perfume, but sometimes wish I did.  My favorite foods are salty and savory, and I love seafood.  My favorite drink at the moment is a classic gin & tonic; this was actually the first mixed drink I ever ordered, at a party when I was 19, and I hated it.

Eric the viking is my favorite...

I love reading but only find time to do it before bed, so it takes me months to get through books in 15 minute stints. My current book is “The Meaning of Night” by Michael Cox, and it’s a good story, but sadly predictable.  I think that I’d be a great editor or TV producer, because I’m able to guess plots with very little to go on, and would therefore limit the amount of predictability in entertainment.  I watch far too much television, but only on the computer, so I have no patience for commercials.  My current favorites are True Blood, Dexter, Weeds, old episodes of The X-Files, and almost everything British.

I like cold beaches better than hot ones, prefer sitting in the shade to sitting in the sun, and always feel at home on a boat.  I do yoga once a week, try to to Zumba classes every other week (it’s tough to schedule in the summer!) and have started going to the driving range to hit a bucket of balls every Monday before grocery shopping.  This is a huge step for me, since I’ve not been able to be as active as I used to be for several years, and I’m now well enough to start testing my endurance.

the incomparable Decemberists

I listen to public radio, only NPR, KEXP, and the local newly public classical station.  I rarely listen to music outside of the car anymore, though, and it’s been about two years since I’ve seen a live show at night because I hate how late they always are and I like to be in bed by midnight.  My music taste is a bit eclectic – I like a lot of folky rock, alt country, and moody singers with guitars, but I also love Motown, Seattle hip-hop, and world music, especially from South America and Africa.  Chances are that if a band has a banjo, accordion, pedal steel, and/or a tuba, I’ll like it.

Burt and Tom

I’m not terribly adept at keeping plants alive.  My most successful houseplant has been a staghorn fern called Burt, named after Burt Reynolds.  I’d like to get another one and name it after Tom Selleck.  I thought I’d do okay with my garden outside, but the only things that thrive are the herbs.  I’ve successfully killed many nasturtiums, tomatoes, ornamental grasses, and now hopvines.  I’m not sure how much of that was my fault, but it’s hard not to take it personally.

with his first oyster shooter last fall

I’m engaged to a wonderful, patient, loyal, geeky guy, and I feel so lucky to have found him 3 years ago this month.  Our story-book nautical themed wedding will be next August, and we’re making everything (with lots of help from friends!).  Our honeymoon is a road trip in the Canadian Maritime Provinces and Quebec.  We’re getting excited about having kids not long after the wedding, and would ideally like two, so no one gets lonely or spoiled.  We’re also daydreaming about owning a house, and will probably put in a huge vegetable garden as our first home project.

I’m writing this re-introduction because I’ve been through a major period of metamorphosis due to a long undiagnosed illness.  I was diagnosed and approved for treatment at the end of 2009, and have been on treatment since the beginning of this year.  Physically, I have noticed slight improvements, but it’s the emotional and mental changes that have been the most profound. I get to be a new person – not the Ginger that was there before my illness, and not the Ginger that was cranky and sick.  I get to decide each day how I want to be, who I want to be, and everything else can fall away.

Many of the things I write about today have been true since as long as I can remember, but many are different.  It’s therapeutic to assess where I am now.  It’s self-indulgent, yes, but when I look back on this in a year or two and see how much everything has changed, it will be an interesting exercise in letting go.

I’d love to hear where you are now.

Leave a Reply

