Chanterelle Pot Pie, redux

Last year, as I was just discovering how addicted to reading blogs I am, I stumbled upon a blog written by a Finnish woman named Tiina: Sparkling Ink.  She had posted a recipe for Chanterelle Pot Pie that made me forget that I don’t actually like mushrooms.  I tried making it last year, fell in love with chanterelles (again – I used to eat them as a kid at my grandparents’ farm), but it wasn’t quite perfect.  You see, it called for frozen vegetable medley (peas, corn, tiny cubic carrots).  I’m sure it was a timesaver, but Matt hates peas and always complains about corn (off-the-cob) in anything from soup to pot pie to salad.  Tiina’s recipe calls for homemade pie dough, which is tough to make in our kitchen with the annoying granite TILE (so all the dough ends up in the grout lines), but I made it.  It wasn’t great, mostly because I was angsty when doing it.  It took a long time to make, so to save more time I used canned chicken (eww).  The pot pie was passable – the mushrooms were the best part – but I don’t think we even finished the whole pie.

Well, I’ve been craving chanterelles ever since I saw them start to pop up at the markets.  This weekend, we were in Olympia (my hometown) for a trip to the cider mill and a birthday party for a dear friend, so we made sure to stop at the Olympia Farmer’s Market to see if we could find any.

We found some for $10/lb, which is an okay price.  I also insisted that we deviate from the recipe and NOT use the frozen veggies.  Instead, we found the sweetest carrots of the season, and some green beans and wax beans — which I had never eaten until this year, but adore them for their green bean flavor and contrasting color.  Instead of regular old white or yellow onion, we bought fresh organic cipollini onions, which are sweet and spicy and I drool just thinking about them. We also managed to pick up some Asian pears, Saekle pears, Italian plums, and candy-striped Chioggia beets, for some recipes later in the week.

Anyway, back to the pot pie.  When we got back to Seattle, we stopped at our favorite supermarket – Ballard Market – for some free-range chicken breasts, creme fraiche, and pre-made, refrigerated pie crusts.  We bought the Western Family (a local generic store brand) pie crusts because they were cheaper than Pillsbury or Pepperidge Farms, but I don’t think it mattered.  The pie crust rocked — it was way better than anything I could make in our inconvenient kitchen.  The original recipe called for only 7 oz. of chicken, but it didn’t look like enough, so I added a second chicken breast.  I think the proportions worked out better this way.

Anyway…the whole thing turned out AMAZING.  This is one of the only meals I’ve made that has me excited about the leftovers.  I’d love to have everyone over to make several of these to share, but chanterelle season is waning, and I think you should try this for yourselves!

 

Chanterelle Pot Pie {adapted from Tiina @ Sparkling Ink}

Ingredients (serves 5-6)

{ dough }

-2 round 9″ sheets of pre-made pie crust (brand of your choice)

{ filling }

– 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces

– 2 cups fresh chanterelles (about dry 2 handfuls)

– 1 cup carrots, halved length-wise and diced

– 1 cup fresh green beans and/or wax beans, with ends removed, cut into 1-1.5″ pieces

– 1 medium onion or 2 large cipollini onions, diced

– 3 tablespoons flour

– 3/4 cup chicken broth

– 3/4 cup creme fraiche

– salt & pepper

– egg for brushing

– butter for sautéeing

This recipe needs a 9.5 – 10-inch deep pie dish.

Wash and chop the veggies. Clean and rinse the mushrooms, and chop into bit-sized pieces, if needed. Cook the mushrooms in a dry skillet over medium low heat for about 5 minutes to let them sweat.  Drain off the excess water, and add a bit of butter to the pan.  Heat until soft and coated with butter. Remove from pan and set aside. Prepare chicken broth and keep it warm on the stove. I use Better Than Bouillon stock concentrate for quick and easy stock.  I made enough for 1 cup, and set it on the stove – about 1/4 cup will evaporate, making the perfect amount.

Brown the chicken pieces in a large skillet, adding butter if needed, and seasoning with salt and pepper. Add in the chanterelles and veggies. Stir until heated. Spoon in the flour and cook for 30 seconds. Add in hot broth and stir well. Cook the filling for 5 more minutes, and remove from the heat. Mix in the creme fraiche. Season entire mixture with salt and pepper.

Unroll one of the crusts and line the pie dish with it. Pour the filling into the dish, and cover with the remaining crust. Pinch the sides to seal. Brush lightly with egg. Make a few cuts in the middle of the pie to allow the steam to vent. Bake at 375˚ F for around 25 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Let sit for 10 minutes before serving.

Try not to eat the whole thing by yourself.  =)

 

Leave a Reply

