Weekend productivity

This weekend, we had my side of the bridal party over to our house for a meet & eat gathering.  I finished a bunch of projects before everyone came over, so this morning I’m feeling a little wiped out.  Here’s recipes for what I made for dinner (blatantly copied and pasted from an email I wrote this morning).

Here’s the link to the blog post I use about oven roasting ribs: How to Make Great Ribs in the Oven
I made 4 racks of pork loin back ribs, and just rubbed sea salt, fresh ground pepper, and dark brown sugar on both sides.  I serve BBQ sauce on the side, since these are messy enough with the dry rub, and I have issues with mustard (it’s in LOTS of sauces!).  I’ve made them a ton of times now (at least a dozen times since it was posted a year ago), and it’s worked perfectly every time.  My first attempts at ribs were on the grill, and well, we don’t talk about them.  They were horrible.
For the soup, I’ve adapted Ina Garten’s original recipe for corn chowder (Crazy corn chowder with bacon fat, butter, olive oil, and cheese – yikes!) and inserted what I changed.

Ginger’s Crayfish and Corn Chowder

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces bacon, chopped
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 2 large onions, chopped (I used mild, sweet onions)
  • 2 diced red bell peppers
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 8 cups lobster stock (I use Better Than Bouillon stock concentrate)
  • Two bags frozen diced sweet potatoes
  • 4 bags (10 oz) frozen sweet corn kernels)
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 1 lb frozen cooked crayfish tails (thawed and rinsed) I get mine from Wild Salmon Seafood Market @ Ballard Fisherman’s Terminal in Seattle

Directions

In a large stockpot over medium-high heat, cook the bacon and olive oil until the bacon is crisp, about 5 minutes. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and reserve. Reduce the heat to medium, add the onions and peppers to the fat, and cook for 10 minutes, until the onions are translucent.

Stir in the salt, pepper, and turmeric and cook for 3 minutes. Add the lobster stock and sweet potatoes, bring to a boil, and simmer uncovered for 5-10 minutes, until the potatoes are tender.  Add the corn to the soup, then add the half-and-half. Cook for 5 more minutes, then stir in the reserved bacon and the crayfish tails. Season to taste, with salt and pepper. Serve hot with lahvosh crackers, if you can find them, otherwise your favorite soup crackers are fine.

We didn’t have time to get lahvosh yesterday, but it is worth tracking down.  The Kingfish Café always serves their chowder with them, and that’s a big reason why I dream about it.

Now, to take my little sis out for breakfast for her upcoming 19th birthday (her real birthday is Wednesday) and take her to Manga Mecca…the Uwajimaya bookstore.  Then I’ll do nothing at all….and feel really good about it.

Leave a Reply

