30 things to do before I turn 30

It’s now 2011, and I have 9 months and 19 days until I turn 30.  I think that instead of New Year’s Resolutions, I’ll use this opportunity to present a list of goals I’d like to complete before September 22.

1. Get married (and all of the projects that go with that…)

2. Blow glass
3. Learn to embroider
4. Feel healthy
5. Visit Prince Edward Island
6. Eat mussels
7. Cook something I’ve never made before at least once per month
8. Get a new tattoo
9. Sew a dress
10. Read the Stig Larsson trilogy
11. Have dinner or drinks with friends every First Thursday of the month
12. Identify at least 100 different species (total) of birds on various birding trips (I’m up to 34!)
13. Eat breakfast every day
14. Visit New York City
15. Start collecting glass art We’re test-driving our first Sonja Blomdahl vessel, making room for some April Surgent wall panels, and starting work on the project that will get us a piece of Preston Singletary!
16. Organize and downsize junk in the craft room
17. Organize and downsize junk in the pantry It’s getting there…
18. Start saving in an IRA
19. Visit Montreal
20. Learn enough basic French to feel comfortable in Montreal
21. Relax – completely – for at least 30 minutes per day
22. Start meditating/yoga at least once per week
23. Store printed photos in a meaningful way
24. Finish every project started this year
25. Take Matt out to eat at Giacomo’s in Boston, on my birthday
26. Eat out somewhere new once per month
27. See friends AT LEAST once per month (outside of First Thursday dinner)
28. Go on a long walk at least once per week
29. Apply for business license
30. Get in the habit of sending Thank You notes, even for little things
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Erin on January 3, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    WOW! That’s a LOT to accomplish in a little over 9 months! Let me know how I can help 🙂 My goal for this year is to go to yoga once a week, so if you’d like to meet-up & go together, just let me know!

    Reply

    • Posted by Ginger on January 3, 2011 at 11:50 pm

      To be fair, at least 1/3 of these were already planned. All of the trips, the wedding, and the getting healthy thing. All the food stuff will be easy as well. The only real substance involves starting a business, saving money, sending Thank You notes, and making sure I make time for friends.

      I’ll let you know about the yoga. Are you still going to your place near work? I’m probably going to start going at my gym in Fremont, since it’s included in our membership.

      Reply

      • Posted by Erin on January 4, 2011 at 8:19 am

        I am still going to Samadhi Yoga on 15th & Pike, but I could be persuaded to do a drop-in at wherever you’re going 🙂

  2. […] by bellecoeurwedding in Uncategorized. Leave a Comment I’ve been occasionally checking my 30 things to do before I turn 30 post, and realizing that some of them are going to be really hard to cross off.  I’m revising my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

