7 facts about me you might not know

I got tagged by another blogger for one of these navel-gazing posts.  I think they’re fun, and like to do them every so often to see how things have changed. I’m not going to tag anyone – but if you like this and end up doing one yourself, please leave the link in the comments!

1. The movie I have seen the most times in my life is either Romancing the Stone or Pillow Talk.

I actually own all three movies that Michael Douglas, Kathleen Turner, and Danny DeVito made together, though this one is by far my favorite.  I loved it as a kid, but now I get the drug references and sex jokes.  Awesome.

Pillow Talk is a movie I’ve seen about 100 times.  I would always watch it when it came on cable and has definitely inspired much of my interior decorating taste.  I’m a lifelong Doris Day fan, but my favorite character in this one has got to be Tony Randall….he makes everything amazing. Also, I loved it as a kid, but now I get the drug references and sex jokes.

2.  I collect lots of things.  Here are some of my favorite collections:

  • sand from beaches and deserts I’ve visited
  • tarnished silverplate pieces from thrift stores
  • engraved glass dishes
  • vintage furniture in bad shape to makeover/reupholster
  • semi-precious stone pendants (most of them were made by my grandpa)
  • nicknacks of camels
  • vintage Japanese vinyl (I only have a few records, but they are amazing)
  • pretty fabric for projects I rarely have time for
  • vintage silk scarves
3.  A lot of people know I love to cook, and that I’m a total food nerd.  Well, I’ve loved the idea of cooking (and the cooking supplies in pretty catalogs and shops, and reading cookbooks) since I was about 9.  I would have to put myself on the bus in the morning to go to school, and the only thing worth watching on TV while eating breakfast was on PBS – The Great Chefs series.  I’d watch it for about 20 minutes every morning, but knew that when they started on the desserts, it was time to walk down the hill to the bus stop.  I think this might have something to do with why I always forget to make dessert when I have people over for dinner, and why if you want dessert you should probably bring it.
Also,  I didn’t actually start seriously cooking until the spring of 2007, when I was unemployed due to Mono/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.  I had nothing else better to do (aside from job hunt) for 6 months, and so started cooking to keep busy.  The cookbook that inspired me: Young and Hungry by Dave Lieberman.  I was randomly in Sur La Table and it caught my eye….not because he’s cute or anything.  😉
4.  I hate wearing socks.
I think it’s from living in Southern California for 3 years and not owning socks the whole time.
Living in Western Washington does not allow for a sockless existence, and I’m still a little bitter about it.  I love when May comes and I can feasibly go sockless for nearly 4 months.
5.  I’m kind of a flibberty-gibbet/scatterbrain/ditz.  I’m terrible with remembering names, how to play cardgames, how to knit or crochet, whether I’ve taken my meds in the morning, etc.  I lose earrings constantly (I’ve changed all the ear hooks to leverbacks and clip pairs together to help mitigate this).  I regularly forget to eat, although I’m hypoglycemic and cranky if I don’t.  When I was 4, I thought the lyric’s to Madonna’s Material Girl were “I’m a Cheerio Girl.”  I didn’t learn the real lyrics until I was 12.  I call our cat “Chicken.”  He hates it, but I can’t stop.
6.  My favorite smells:
  • pavement in the desert (especially in Eastern Washington) within the first 5 minutes after it starts to rain.
  • tomato leaves
  • Arthur’s fur
  • Maker’s Mark
  • rosemary
    My least favorite smells:
  • Linden tree blossoms
  • mushrooms
  • sugar beet refineries
  • lilies
  • low tide
7.  My dream cars:
1970 Chevrolet El Camino
1967 Volvo P1800 Coupe
An Australian-style Ute, like the Ford Falcon, or the Holden Ute SS.
Ford Transit Connect (this would be so handy on camping trips or when building stuff!)
Leave a Reply

