Things I like to make in my Dutch Oven(s): Volume 1

Oddly enough, I’ve received a Dutch Oven each Christmas for the last two years.

The first one is a Lodge 6 quartz enameled cast iron version in Caribbean Blue.  This one was from my mom.

 

The following year (2010), my sister bought me a Martha Stewart Collection enameled cast iron Dutch Oven in Green Apple.

I wonder if someone will get me another one this year….I do have a 3 quart casserole sized one on our wedding registry…..and I would like to try a seasoned version with little legs on it to cook in a campfire.

Anyway….it came up a few weeks ago that a friend of mine had bought the same green Dutch Oven as I had, but has been at a loss for what to make in it.  So, I thought it would be fun to post recipes for my favorite things to cook in my Dutch Ovens.  The first recipe happens to be the one I’m making tonight: Pioneer Woman’s Simple, Hearty White Chili.  I’ve made this chili about a half dozen times, and it always surprises me how wonderful it is, and how long it lasts.  Matt and I can live off this chili for at least 3 days, and my easily bored tastebuds don’t even complain.  Trust me, you’ll want to try this!

{Simple, Hearty White Chili} Adapted from the original recipe by Pioneer Woman (Ree Drummond)

Prep Time: 25 Minutes  |  Cook Time: 2 Hours  |  Difficulty: Easy  |  Servings: 8+

Ingredients

  • 1 whole Fryer Chicken, Cut Up (or 3 Cups Cooked Chicken – I usually use boneless skinless breasts)
  • 1 whole Medium Onion, Diced
  • 4 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 2 whole Cans Green Chilies, Chopped (I like Hatch fire roasted diced green chilies, and I use 2 4 oz cans – it saves a step)
  • 1 pound Dried Great Northern Beans, Rinsed
  • 8 cups Chicken Broth (I like to use Better Than Bouillon stock base for this)
  • 1 whole Jalapeno, Sliced (optional)
  • 1-½ Tablespoon Ground Cumin
  • ½ teaspoons Paprika
  • ½ teaspoons Cayenne Pepper
  • Salt To Taste
  • White Pepper, To Taste
  • 1 cup Whole Milk (yes, it should really be full fat)
  • 2 Tablespoons Masa (corn Flour) OR Cornmeal (I like to use fine ground blue cornmeal here)
  • Grated Monterey Jack, To Taste (I tend to use Tilamook’s Mexican blend of cheddar and pepperjack for this)
  • Sour Cream For Garnish
  • Cotija Cheese For Garnish
  • Cilantro For Garnish
  • Guacamole (optional)
  • Pico De Gallo (optional)
  • Corn Tortillas (warmed)

Preparation Instructions

Cover chicken with water and boil for 20 to 30 minutes or until done. Remove meat from bones, if necessary. Set aside.

In a dutch oven over medium-high heat, saute onions and garlic for 2 minutes. Add chopped green chilies, then rinsed beans. Pour chicken broth into the pan. Add sliced jalapenos, if using. Season with salt, pepper, and cumin. Place lid on pot and reduce heat to low.

Cook for 2 hours or until beans are done. Halfway through the cooking process, add 3 cups of cooked chicken.

When beans are tender, mix milk with masa (or cornmeal) and pour into the chili. Cook for an additional ten minutes to thicken. Check seasoning and adjust, adding cayenne pepper and paprika if desired.

Add some Monterey Jack cheese to the pot and stir to melt.

Serve chili in a bowl. Garnish with cilantro, sour cream, extra cheese—even pico de gallo and guacamole, if you have some on hand. Roll up warm corn tortillas and serve on the side of the bowl.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lynda emerson on April 20, 2011 at 8:51 am

    I Just bought a Martha Stewart dutch oven and Iam loking forward to seeing more of your recipes. I will try the chili next week.
    Lynda E

    Reply

    • Posted by bellecoeurwedding on April 20, 2011 at 9:14 am

      Cool, thanks! I have a few built up, and have many I still want to try out. I hope posting these will help all of us get better use out of our Dutch Ovens!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

