Back in the saddle

It’s been a while since I’ve last posted.  Matt and I had our wedding, which was lovely and amazing, but I’m not ready to even think about it or post photos of it because it’s just too overwhelming.  Plus, I would like to move forward, because thinking about how it’s over and how I won’t ever be able to do anything over again is just sad and exhausting.  We went on our honeymoon, which was really fun, but about a week too long.  We both got pretty tired about 2 weeks in, and would have gladly bolted down to Massachusetts to relax with Matt’s family, but we had a few days more of PEI and Maine to get through, which were honestly beautiful and have us wanting to go back so we can spend more time there, only without the 10 hour driving days.

We got back to Seattle at the end of September and have essentially been home and settled for 3 weeks, though it doesn’t feel like it.  It feels as though, at least for me, without the wedding or a big goal on the horizon, I’ve lost my bearings.  I don’t know which way to move or what to work on or what I even want to be doing.  While we were on our trip, we daydreamed about doing a big Fall-cleaning purge and reorganization of our house – after which, we would have a more usable project space/office/pantry and a reclaimed room to act as a guest/video game/sewing/future baby’s room.  It’s been 3 weeks, and we haven’t even started to pull the wedding boxes out of the current office space to see what we have to work with.  It’s time for some new goals, a new bearing, and some accountability for these goals.  I hope to start posting more, to motivate me to get things done and to share them.  There are exciting things happening, or at least beginning to happen, that I’d love to share and have a record of, and well, this is my blog, so I will damn well post about it!

Inspired by a stream-of-consciousness post from the Pioneer Woman today, here’s what’s going on in a completely unelaborated way:

1.  I am actually dressing up for Halloween this year, in a costume that will actually take more than 5 minutes to make.  I will be Evil Jen from the “Aunt Irma” episode of the British series The IT Crowd. Example:

2.  I started archery classes last week.  We’ve had two class sessions so far, and already I’m pretty decent (according to the coaches).  We haven’t yet learned how to aim at a target though….we’ll see after next week.

3.  When we’re finished with the main re-org project, we’re getting a new sofa, since the one we have now was free, the reupholstery job we did is still good but now it’s dirty and can’t be cleaned easily, and the springs are starting to sproing out the bottom.  We’re looking very seriously at the Karlstad sectional from IKEA in Islunda Gray, but it’s too low, so we need to find some different legs.  I’m leaning toward tapered mid-century wooden legs from McLendon Hardware.  Simple enough to be cheap (there are 10 legs on the below option) and we can paint them!  Plus, they come in a million heights.

3.  After months of thinking about refinishing the table/chairs set that I inherited from my grandma, I’ve finally decided what I’m going to do.  I will refinish all the woodwork on the table legs and chairs with silver leaf, and instead of finding a new laminate to replace the old cracked stuff, I will cover it myself with wood veneer.  It will be done in an Art Deco marquetry style, possibly with inlaid malachite details!  I haven’t figured out what fabric I’ll use to replace the amazing-but-worn-out c. 1953 alligator green Naugahyde, but I’m on the lookout.  Here’s the inspiration image for the inlay pattern (the window, not the floor).  I’ll post more when I’ve done the drawing!

4.  I’ve been quickly acquiring new clothes – far too many to post about in detail.  I’m mostly working on starting to dress a bit more polished, more professional, more mature.  I’ve never really dressed “my age” but now that I’m 30 (oh yeah, I turned 30 during the honeymoon!), I kind of want to start wearing more classic pieces that I will want to wear for years to come.  I’ve finally found blazers and jackets that fit, which I could never do – since apparently I have a very high pivot point on my shoulder and NOT broad shoulders like I thought.  I always thought I couldn’t move my arms in jackets because my shoulders were too wide.  Nope, they’re actually pretty narrow, and my arms can’t move because the jacket shoulder hits halfway down my upper arm!  Solution: petites.  And Talbot’s extended sizes in petites.  They’re cut differently, so if a 16 regular wasn’t working right, a 14P might be perfect.  Crazy!  And brilliant!

5.  I’m getting on track with my health, which has been a project for many years.  I feel like I’m really on the edge of finding a good solution for my issues, which have compounded and intensified over the years.  I may write a post explaining everything that’s happening, but for now, I’ll just say that I’m feeling good about the direction things are going, and I’m ready to change the story to one that’s positive and good instead of endlessly frustrating.

6.  Going along with #5 and our giant re-org comes our big goal: baby making!  I’m getting my health figured out, we’re making space, and hopefully this time next year we’ll have a due date on the calendar, if not a whole new person, in the picture!

Sooooo….that’s it for now.  It’s been cathartic to lay it all out.  I feel a little less bearing-less now, and feel like moving forward.  Perhaps tonight we’ll start pulling out the wedding bins?

7.  My new motto:

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.  

-Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

