Things I like to make in my Dutch Oven: Volume 4 – Summer approaches…

Oh, it’s been a beautiful weekend in Seattle.  The sky is that almost unreal shade of periwinkle blue, the sun is shining, and there’s enough of a soft breeze to keep you comfortable.  It’s precisely the kind of day that makes me not want to be cooped up in my office.  I’d much rather cross the street and hang out at the lake for a while, but I’m here for a few more minutes, so I might as well share one of my favorite late Spring-Summer recipes.

As soon as I start seeing sweet corn at the local grocery store I start dreaming about this chowder, which I first tried at The Kingfish Café in Seattle in the summer of 2007.

Crayfish and Corn Chowder (adapted from Ina Garten’s Cheddar Corn Chowder)

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces bacon, chopped
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 2 large onions, chopped (I used mild, Walla Walla Sweet onions)
  • 2 diced red bell peppers
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 8 cups lobster stock (I use Better Than Bouillon stock concentrate)
  • Two bags frozen diced sweet potatoes
  • 4 bags (10 oz) frozen sweet corn kernels, or equivalent fresh corn, if you can find it
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 1 lb frozen crayfish tails (thawed and rinsed).  Finding them frozen

Directions

In a large stockpot or dutch oven over medium-high heat, cook the bacon and olive oil until the bacon is crisp, about 5 minutes. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and reserve. Reduce the heat to medium, add the onions and peppers to the fat, and cook for 10 minutes, until the onions are translucent.

Stir in the salt, pepper, and turmeric and cook for 3 minutes. Add the lobster stock and sweet potatoes, bring to a boil, and simmer uncovered for 5-10 minutes, until the potatoes are tender.  Add the corn to the soup, then add the half-and-half. Cook for 5 more minutes, then stir in the reserved bacon and the crayfish tails. Season to taste, with salt and pepper. Serve hot with lahvosh crackers, if you can find them, otherwise your favorite soup crackers are fine.

I’ll be making it this weekend!

Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos (it disappears too quickly to shoot it!), so I found this one using a quick google image search.  It actually comes from a recipe from Martha Stewart for Chilled Corn and Crayfish Soup with Creme Fraiche and Chives.  I will have to try it when the weather is hotter!

Leave a Reply

